A Second Thank You

Recently I thanked readers of this blog for helping me reach the 25,000 visitors mark in the two years and nine months I had been writing the blog. Today, the blog had its 50,000 view and passed the 26,000 visitor mark this morning while I was talking to an audience at the Academies Show.

So, another big thank you to readers and those that recommend the blog to others. I know that 25,000 and 50,000 are small beer in the blogosphere, but they are important milestones to me as when I wrote my various columns in the TES I rarely know how many people were reading them. New technology makes for so much more data.

In celebrating these milestones, I also celebrate the growth of TeachVac, the free recruitment site for teachers established at the start of the year. I will reveal its success in more detail at the end of the year when it has been in operation for a full twelve months, but it is fair to say that it has exceeded our expectations in its first year.

In the autumn statement today the Chancellor said of education:

2.65 The government will help schools to make savings on procurement, including by exploiting economies of scale. In 2016 the government will publish a set of specific actions to support school leaders target over £1 billion a year in procurement savings by the end of the parliament through benchmarking, guidance and improved framework contracts.

If anyone knows how to convince the government that TeachVac is already starting to do just that and has so far cost the government, schools and teachers nothing, not a single pound, then could they please let me know?

For those of you that don’t know the site it is at www.teachvac.co.uk and there are simple demonstration videos of how to use the site if you are a school or a teacher or trainee. We also have facilities for local authorities – possibly coming back into favour again despite the cut in the Education Support Grant today – and academy chains and others responsible for groups of schools to upload vacancies in batches.

A unique feature of TeachVac is that schools posting main scale vacancies in most secondary subjects are told what we thing the market is like at the point when they post the vacancy. We think that is a unique feature. TeachVac staff can also provide other data and analysis of the labour market in schools for interested bodies and we gather this together in our monthly newsletters and regular Reviews.

This blog is now well on the way to its third milestone of 360 posts in 36 months. There are 24 to go by the end of January 2016. I hope that will be achievable.

It is always good to receive comment and encouragement because writing anything can be something of a lonely process. So, many thanks to those that comment and especially the small band of regular commentators.

 

4 thoughts on “A Second Thank You

  1. Hello John, Apologies for the WordPress reply but I’ve lost your email. Are you going to the RSA event today? If so I’ll look out for you. I’ve just been appointed chief exec of the Education Media Centre – you may have been in touch with Cathy Farmer as she quoted your work in a piece this week? Fran Abrams

    • Fran,

      Curiously, despite being a Fellow for many years, I haven’t been invited. but, perhaps former Fellows aren’t on the invitation list. Still there are enough other events to keep me more than busy. I am sure the speakers will have something useful to say.

      I will contact you via the EMC.

      John

  2. Congratulations, John. Your blog is now one of my ‘must reads’. It’s particularly useful because it keeps me up-to-date with teacher recruitment – something I’m a bit out-of-touch with.

    You’re right that the internet makes it easier to gauge whether what you write is actually being read. And it’s very encouraging when something you write gets a number of hits. It may be ‘small beer’, but the it allows people to get in touch with each other and share each other’s articles.

    Thanks again

Leave a Reply

